top of page

Appreciating Languages


Some kinda modern art piece which I can't figure out for the life of me
Source: Kandinsky Wallpapers

As Federico Fellini said, “A different language is a different version of life.” And I am sure a lot of us would agree. We feel like we are very different souls when switching languages. For me, my native tongue is obviously comforting. But every other language I speak makes me feel like I am a whole different person. Even when I am trying to learn a new language, despite having learned only a couple of phrases, I feel different.


During the pandemic, I used to listen to music all day long and began appreciating the lyrics which had been penned down so beautifully. I also listened to songs from languages I didn’t understand at all. I have always believed that listening to songs can help in both expanding one’s vocabulary as well as appreciating the language better. I now enjoy songs in many languages I don’t even understand. This might sound ridiculous but you should try it!


I am a big fan of music and always crave more melodies. But no matter how many songs I listen to, a new song always enchants me. It is not just the songs that are fascinating. I personally connect to any language better whenever I listen to songs in those languages. Language is so beautiful, isn’t it?


Uma Sathwika

Batch of 2022

BA Program

Edited by Amanya Sharma and Priyambada Kashyap

Art Curated by Dristi Buzar Baruah

Comments


bottom of page