top of page

Dozakh


Source: Anomalien

On the bed of roses, I lay down,

with my beloved’s hand in mine.

In the casket of thorns, I wake up,

without the love of a lover.

Alone.

It’s cold, but there is fire.

My heart burns.

My throat is parched,

but I still scream.

Alone.

There is a tempest,

the winds swear at me.

I walk deep into disgust,

my feet sinking deeper.

Alone.

The never-ending rain of sorrows

burdens my chest;

dragging the mass of regrets

I prepare to fight myself.

Alone.

The swans have left the river

as its water is now polluted.

It would not soothe the burning tomb.

So, I move ahead, dejected.

Alone.

There is rage within me,

my eyes remain dry,

my soul bleeds,

the pain consumes.

And I battle it furiously.

Alone.

I want to cross the mountains,

but my soles still rest on coal.

I take a step forward, into the molten lava,

swallowed by the boiling lake.

Alone.

I willed myself to swim,

and now there is ice.

I see the light and feel the warmth,

a few steps more.

Alone.

I climbed and climbed,

eventually to the door to paradise.

I shed off the darkness

as I conquer the castle.

Alone.


-Anshika Srivastava

B. A. (H) Psychology

Third Year

[Edited by Bhoomi Sati

Art Curated by Anshika Srivastava]

Comments


bottom of page