top of page

For Baba


Art by: William Verplanck Birney

Baba told me that I could measure a tree's life

by counting it's annual rings,

so I'd sit on Baba's lap and

count the wrinkles on his grainy face that would ebb and flow

like the gentle waves of a tranquil sea.


But my counting could never be completed,

because everytime I'd set on this quest,

his smile would create ripples of wrinkles

that would eventually turn into tides of laughter.

So I asked Baba if he could keep changing his age

and he replied that as long as he smiled, he could live forever.


Baba told me that most trees shed their leaves in autumn,

so when he started losing his stray strands of hair

and his eyes turned a dull grey

that could no longer tell stories of blindingly bright summers,

I knew his autumn had come to pay him a visit.


Baba told me that old trees are made up of dead cells,

so I started noticing festered wounds on his dry, brown skin

that loved his pain a little too much

to leave him with his peace.


Baba told me about the trees that would become hosts for unwelcome parasites.

I saw him struggle with the invisible creeper

slowly taking over his lean body,

making itself feel at home

by ousting its own host.


Baba told me a lot of stories about a tree's life,

but nothing about its death.

So when someone tells me that Baba died of old age

I correct them;

maybe he just didn't want to smile anymore.


-By Videsha Srivastava

B.A. Program

Third Year


[Edited by Harshita Khaund and Shreya Jathavedan

Art Curated by Esha Yadav]



Comments


bottom of page