top of page

One Breath Less


Art by: Sara Arasteh

Life.

She always looked at moments, wanting each one to be a breath of fresh air; each moment building up to make one spectacular lifetime, the way every drop of water makes up an entire ocean. But it was too much to ask for, I guess, because there was one moment that changed everything. One moment wherein she couldn’t breathe. I had never thought it could be like that—having one defining moment in your life. But that changed when I saw her. Her eyes were a little less happy, her smile was a little less wide, her laugh a little sad, and her heartbeat a little faster. She constantly took in deep breaths, as though compensating for that one breath she lost. Her knee always bobbed up and down, putting everyone around her on edge. I wondered what could happen because to me, she was a cool, calming breeze. To herself, she was anything but.


Every moment of your life shapes you into the person that you eventually become. But for her, that one moment changed the person she was going to become. That one moment that I despise with all my heart. That one moment that took her away from me. That one moment when I lost her to her. It did not take years, or months, or days for it to happen. All it took was a snap.

One momentary snap.

One lapse.

One time she couldn’t breathe.

One moment of panic.

One moment of anxiety.

One breath less.


By-

Guniya Sharma

B.A. Progam

Third Year


(Edited by Suvasika Bhat

Art Curated by Ritika Mittal)


Comments


bottom of page