top of page

Shershaah: Reflections on a Movie


Art Source: Dharma Productions

Some films impact your life radically. They paralyze your mind and make your heart speak. Shershaah was one of them. This movie compelled me to think about love, choices, wishes, and the very meaning of life.


How is one person ready to sacrifice his 'everything' for an inch of the country's land, while some people just cannot think beyond money and power? Both of these extreme factions exist in the same society. We constantly force ourselves to think about our own future, our job, our promotions, our life, because we don't have the guts to think about others. We form our own self-serving bubbles, willingly staying trapped and choosing to be unhappy. But how rare is the quality of 'selflessness,' consciously choosing to live and die for the nation? How dearly he loved the girl but even more was his love for his country. Even braver was the heart that patiently waited for him to return. Yes, he returned but wrapped in the Indian flag.


Shershaah is not just the story of Captain Vikram Batra but that of every individual who willingly chooses to serve the nation, the army. Tears trickle down my face when I think of those sweet moments, compassionate touches, consolidated promises, and the endless trail of waiting. Our worst fears are losing our loved ones, having to part with them, or to live without them. I fear attaching my strings to anyone because I dread losing them at some point in my life. I know that if I ever love, I will love dearly, and living without the other person would not be something I could accept. If we consciously choose to live together, then I wish we could choose to die together, too. But we are born alone and we shall die alone, and everything in between is just memories. Since we all have to die one day, it is our choice if we want to live for ourselves or for others. Everyone thinks about their wealth, their children, their wife, and their vocation because not every heart has the mettle to think about others first. With damp eyes and a quavering voice, I salute every soldier out there who has succeeded in achieving the highest quality possessed by humans: living for others. I salute every story of boundless valor and unsung strength hidden in the abyss of time.


This film reverberated through my mind and body. In fact, I broke down just while watching the trailer. But I'm glad that such a film was made. Every song, every dialogue, every scene was breathtaking—enough to cause me a hangover. I wish more people would appreciate this movie so that such films are made more often. After all, this industry influences society more than any other.


By-

Alona Yadav

BMMMC

First Year


[Edited by Debaruna and Shreya

Art by: Dharma Productions

Art curated by Guniya Sharma]


Comentarios


bottom of page