top of page

STRAIGHT LINE


Source: Pinterest

I had a problem of constructional apraxia.

I celebrated my tenth birthday and two months passed.

It was in the same month

when my parents breathed their last.


My ill brother and I were left alone.

While he started earning and saving pennies,

we were able to keep the wolf from the door

at the cost of his health and getting scratched knees.


My brother used to teach me how to make a straight line,

but the lines I drew had many curves

as for me, a straight line was symbolic of an easy life,

while curves meant a life with challenges and getting what one deserves.


“Draw a straight line!” my brother used to shout.

“I hate straight lines,” I cried.

Tight hugs he then gave me

and eventually, together we smiled.


At the pharmacy, not having enough money,

my brother used to buy medicines not for him but only for me.

But I was very young and innocent to realize

what harm to himself invited he.


Once again, for my brother, I tried to draw a straight line.

Looking at it, I smiled as I almost succeeded

and thought that it was too perfect.

Then, I waited for my brother to come back home so that he could also see it.


That evening, my neighbor took me to the hospital.

I couldn’t understand what was happening.

My brother was lying on a hospital bed

connected to a cardiac monitor machine with some string.


And then I realized that the line I drew

was not really that perfect,

as on the cardiac monitor machine lying in front of me,

I saw a straight line even more perfect.


By-

Mansha Gupta

B.A. (Hons.) Psychology

1st year


[Edited by Tushita Choudhary and Shreya Jathavedan

Art curated by Naina Sarma ]


Comments


bottom of page