top of page

The Voice


Artist Unknown


The voices in my head

want to force me to stay in bed.

They scream, they shout,

they whisper out loud;

“Who will I disappoint next?”


The voices in my head

fill me with dread.

They pick me up,

then put me down,

they make me want to drown.


The voices in my head

tell me to isolate myself.

That I ruin everything I get.

They eat away my hopes and dreams

and shatter all my self esteem.


The voices in my head

tell me to feel ashamed of myself.

New voices join in everyday,

pointing out how I need to fade away.


I live with these voices in my head.

I believe these voices in my head.

I need these voices in my head

to remind me of who I truly am.



-Asna Masih

B.A. Psychology (Hons.)


(Edited by Bisni and Pallavi

Art curated by Pallavi)

Comments


bottom of page