top of page

Untitled


Artist: Do Founier

There are days when you look back in time, days that force you to reminisce. Reminiscence can be a vicious thing, but only when you carry the burden of your past along with you. It’s a sweet aftertaste when you know what you've left behind. I used to ask the most frequently asked question in an empty room, “Why me?” and never once did I find the answer until I saw what life was like after the suffering. Sometimes, you need to go through a lot of pain to cherish the bliss that follows; dive into cold water to feel the warmth of the sun on your skin. Take me back a few years to that day and you'd find me crying, pouring my heart out in sad locutions; ask me then what I would want, and the answer would be to get out of that state of anguish. You'd see me crying and cribbing about fate, about how life was oh-so-unfair towards me. My suffering led me to this day; now, I look back and smile, thinking of how imbecilic I was to believe I'd never find glee again. Today, I call myself foolish for ever thinking that that was the end of it, for thinking that it was anything more than a semicolon on the page. Suffering and felicity are two sides of the same coin. It is important to remember that we don't stop at either.


-Stuti Dhar Chowdhury

B. A. (H) English

Second Year


(Edited by Shreya Jathavedan and Mehak Aggarwal

Art Curated by Shreya Jathavedan and Anshika Srivastava)





1 Comment


supysen1970
Aug 21, 2021

Extremely personal though, yet it has such a general charm that takes yoi to that personal corner...each to his/her own...to that corner of realisation, that location where you assimilated it in the quiet, that moment where you came to terms with it and evolved.

Most beautifully worded Stuti-- keep writing, keep sharing...Love and Best Wishes...Suparna

Like
bottom of page