top of page

Unwind


Artwork by Dominique Hoffer

A pile of old, dusty electronics

stacked in a dim-lit room,

a desktop resting upon, a

CPU and a keyboard begloom,

lay beside a radio transistor, sending

signals for his rescue from approaching doom,

a television set, panting like an athlete after marathon

waiting for his results in the backroom,

a digital wall clock bidding adieu to its soul

which got merged in the air like a fume,

an octogenarian mobile phone and a smart watch downcast,

sprouting out of the pile like a germinating mushroom.

They used to be my all-time-best friends

and now they’re just like trash as anything else, I assume.

With every second and minute and hour ticking by,

our world of advancing and sprinting technology blooms;

every time I come in here, my past rewinds,

I just want to stick here for a moment, and get subsumed.

“Mariah!” I called my humanoid robot assistant,

“We gotta clean this; go get a broom.”


-Khushi Daksh

Second Year

English Hons.



[Edited by Nilabja Das

Art Curated by Basundhara Jana]


Comments


bottom of page