top of page

What would you do...


Source: Google

What would you do if I asked you to close your eyes and sit silently without any distraction, all alone?


Would your demons slowly creep in, twisting their way through?

If my thoughts were to keep me company, the demons that I have buried deep within my subconscious would start resurfacing.


When those demons start emerging, my body automatically goes into flight mode:

I open Netflix, grab a bowl of popcorn and binge my troubles away.

But, how long could I actually run for?

Eventually, they did catch up with me during the quarantine.


It brought me face to face with my innermost thoughts and made me tackle the insecurities I had buried deep within.

The past 8 months have been a roller coaster ride of forced introspection but I am so grateful for that. It was hard, not gonna lie. At times it felt like a burden to even get up from the bed but I didn't give up and just kept going.


Each passing day, it got better. I got better and I still am, with each day. I am becoming self aware. It has given me a whole different perspective about life as a whole, a brand new sense of self-worth and a whole lot of hope and gratitude for everything I have.


Now, when I look in the mirror, I see a version of myself I never believed could even exist and I am kinda proud of her.


- Saman Jawaid

B.Com (Hons.)


(Edited by Khushboo and Pallavi

Art curated by Anshika)


Comments


bottom of page